Members

Faculty

Guobin Yang, Director
digital media, political communication, global communication, social movements, cultural sociology, China

 

social media, protests, mobilization, online social networks, information diffusion, automated text analysis

 

advocacy journalism, border crossings, transnational news organizations

 

social movements, protest, media experiences, mediated citizenship, media memories
anne.kaun@sh.se

 

information inequalities, technological distributions of power

 

Luis Moreno-Caballud
social movements, cultural hierarchy and democratization, revolts against neoliberalism, peer-to-peer media

mluis@sas.upenn.edu

 

history and political economy of media institutions, media activism, media policy

 

digital media, mass communication, learning sciences, learning technology

race, African and African Diaspora populations

 

climate politics and social movement protest in global cities

 

Shiwen Wu
new media and society, online activism, health communication

Graduate Students

Omar Al-Ghazzi
global communication, journalism, collective memory, media activism
oalghazzi@asc.upenn.edu

 

technology, political discourse, news consumption, civic engagement
dberman@asc.upenn.edu

 

Lyndsey Beutin
race, representation, violence, memory, media, visual culture
lbeutin@asc.upenn.edu

 

Rosemary Clark
feminism, gender, media, social movements, representation
rclark@asc.upenn.edu

 

Jasmine Erdener
gender, identity, digital media, activism
jerdener@asc.upenn.edu

 

Kecheng Fang
media, politics, China
kfang@asc.upenn.edu

 

social movements, collective action, digital technologies

 

Nicholas Gilewicz
journalism, collective memory, digital media
ngilewicz@asc.upenn.edu

 

Ashley Gorham
technology, democracy, hacktivism, democratic theory
agorham@sas.upenn.edu

 

Leslie Jones
race, gender, digital media representations, digital inequality
lesjones@sas.upenn.edu

 

identity, representation, power, race, gender, activism, feminism, digital media
kornpublic@comcast.net

 

Tim Libert
digital media, privacy, information flows, digital rights
tlibert@asc.upenn.edu

 

James Losey
global internet, collective action, rule of law, citizenship

 

Ran Liu
civil society development, social movements, NGOs, internet censorship, social network analysis
ranliu@sas.upenn.edu

 

Debora Lui
education, social media, museums
dlui@asc.upenn.edu

 

Sonita Moss
social movements, cultural production, urban inequality
sonitam@sas.upenn.edu

 

Jonathan Pace
mass media, social movements, globalization, critical theory

 

Pawel Popiel
media industries, media policy, media activism

 

Steven Schrag
digital culture, critical theory, sound studies, game studies
sschrag@asc.upenn.edu

 

Alexandra Sastre
bodies, digital media, feminist theory, queer theory, critical race theory, postcolonial theory
asastre@asc.upenn.edu

 

micro-sociology, social theory, conflict, mixed research methods, sociolinguistics
dsorge@sas.upenn.edu

 

digital media, human rights, embodiment, power, resistance
rstonecipher@asc.upenn.edu

 

 

Başak Taraktaş

digital media, human rights, embodiment, power, resistance
basakt@sas.upenn.edu